About ArONL

The Arkansas Organization of Nurse Leaders (ArONL) was established before becoming affiliated with the Arkansas Hospital Association in 1987. Its goal was to provide members with networking and educational opportunities designed to increase the advancement of nursing leadership in Arkansas. The goal remains the same today. ArONL promotes excellence in nursing leadership by providing opportunities for networking, educational activities and exposure to topics that are relevant to nurse leaders in today’s workplace.

Members have an opportunity to participate in activities offered by ArONL two times yearly at the Summer and Fall conferences held across the state. The conferences cover a wide range of topics selected by the members. Utilizing dynamic speakers currently working in the healthcare environment, the topics are timely and offer the nurse leader practical applications to the current marketplace.

Board of Directors

Trenda Ray, PhD, RN, NEA-BC

Board President

Chief Nursing Officer
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Angie Longing, MHSM, BSN, RN, NE-BC

Board President-Elect

Chief Nursing Executive\SVP
CHI St. Vincent Health System

Lisa Wallace, DNP, RN, NE-BS, CPPS

Board Secretary

Chief Nursing Officer
National Park Medical Center


Susan Musgrove, MSN, RN

Board Director

Director of Ambulatory Clinical Nursing
Baxter Regional Medical Center

Cynthia J. Brown, RN, MNSC, NE-BC

Board Director

Nursing Director
UAMS Medical Center

C. J. Newton, MSN, RN, NE-BC

Board Director

Interim Magnet Program Director
Conway Regional Health System


Michelle Powell, MSN, MBA, RN, APRN

Board Director

VP and Chief Nursing Officer
Jefferson Regional

Pamela Brown, RN, BSN, CPHQ, CPPS

Board Director

CNE Nurse Planner
Vice President for Quality and Patient Safety
Arkansas Hospital Association